(Including myself.)

tockthegnomeholidayWIP2014

I haven’t posted much here lately – the last couple of months have been really emotionally trying and as a result I’ve drifted away from creating and posting work. I’m just getting back into the swing of drawing, though, so I guess this is me writing to get back into the swing of posting too.

Above is a very very WIP on the holiday piece for Tock the Gnome. I try to do one every year, and have only managed sketches before, so I thought I’d push myself  to do something more finished this time. I didn’t get it done in time for my chosen seasonal holiday, Yule, but its almost done now so I’m still hoping to get it posted by Christmas, since I’ll be going out of town to visit family for a couple days right after.

Normally I strive for 15 minutes a day of work on the pages of the comic, too, but that hasn’t been happening lately. So this will be the last Tock art for the year, and hopefully I’ll get right back into page production around New Year’s.

Those of you who are also naturally-inclined probably know that this Solstice was a New Moon one, so there’s a lot of energy available for new beginnings and the shedding of old badness to build positivity for something. I’m hoping to get guidance for Tock and my art in general on that note.

Also, and very importantly, commissions. Little by little I’m getting work done on those. Next ones to be finished are an illustration for a good friend’s books, a fantasy portrait for a client on deviantART, and I also hope to have work to post soon on a collaboration with another friend (having to do with the Faeries 😀 ).

Creating art is often a struggle for me because of personal issues. I tend to bounce between strong inspiration and lows of no productivity at all, lots of the time. I’m very grateful to be inspired again and hope to keep this one going for a while.

Thanks for reading, and good luck with your holiday season, everyone.

 

 

